Homestyle Biscuits

Sunday I posted one of my favorite things my mom used to make. S.O.S (a.k.a Biscuits and gravy). Growing up the biscuits my mom used to make were made from Bisquick and I loved them. This product is a super simple and fast way to make things like biscuits or pancakes if you don’t want to spend the time making them from scratch. As an adult I make my own Homestyle Biscuits from scratch, or if I am in a rush I use Pillsbury.

After years of eating Bisquick biscuits I have started to not like them because after living outside of my mothers home and making my own from scratch I can tell the difference. And to me the taste is huge!

 

homestylebiscuits

So after trying many, many homestyle biscuit recipes I have settled on just this basic biscuit recipe found on Allrecipes.

 

Just a little side note, I like to double this recipe and do a layering trick! This might seem like a lot of biscuit but it makes a thicker and fluffier biscuit that will hold up to gravy. (Recipe is listed a original not double)

Print2

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • About 1 extra cup of flour for tossing and rolling.

Instructions

  1. Preheat over to 450 degrees F
  2. In a large bowl sift together flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in shortening with pastry blender or fork until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. About pea sized.
  3. Pour milk into flour mixture while mixing with fork just until it is mix well and dough pulls away from sides.
  4. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and toss with flour until no longer sticky. Roll dough to about 1/2 inch and cut with floured cutter.
  5. Place biscuits on baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.

**Optional: When it comes to rolling out biscuits they usually turn out just as thick and fluffy as the picture but some times they are flat! One way to prevent this and get nice fluffy biscuits is to layer.

As I said above I like to double this recipe and layer it. Once you have turned our dough out of the bowl and tossed with more flour to make it no longer sticky I then divide my dough into 4 balls. Roll each ball out to about 1/4 inch and then stack them with a light brush of water between each layer. This will make your dough about an inch high, now lightly, and I mean lightly, roll the combined layers out until the whole stack is between 1/2 and 3/4 inch thick. Cut and bake with the same instructions.**

2 thoughts on “Homestyle Biscuits

Leave a comment